end of summer update- i’m alive!

I noticed it’s been 2 months or so since my last post.. I had a couple of drafts on reviews of products but haven’t fully edited them so that’s why it’s been very radio silent on my end. Like I said in that post, life had gotten in the way. A combination of work and personal life, that’s for sure.

But let’s do a brief catch-up on what’s been going on my life, shall we?

I finished my program in late July so now I can say I’m a health coach! I’m still working out on how I want to use the skills I’ve learned, whether to actually take on clients, work with other coaches, or other things along that vein. I know I want to ultimately help others and make a difference, but maybe not necessarily in the same constructs of a client-coach relationship. I’m not quite sure. I feel like it’s out there, especially if it’ll be for my age group (always looking for the next time efficient but helpful thing). Some unideal things happened that made me question if I should even do anything with it, but I think the best way would be to tailor it in a way that everyone would win.

As soon as that was over, I took my first “real” vacation (read: with friends, not family) in August. I haphazardly booked flights which was different from the regular planner in me. I didn’t plan on going back to Europe this year at all. But I went to Spain for less than two days and spent the remainder of my trip in London, the city that taught me more about myself when I studied there for a semester. It was bizarre being back… having that odd familiarity when you and the city itself had changed.

I came back home to a crazy work situation, while also trying to play catch up on the weeks I’ve missed. Most of my days have been spent on getting my bearings back, plus using new software, and just overall remembering where I left off before I traveled all over the place.

…at the same time booking a slightly impromptu 3-day trip to Montreal with a pitstop at my college town to visit friends.

So in a nutshell, I spent August traveling and not at home which brought back so many feelings. I love traveling and did so much of it during my school years, but since graduating college, I’ve stayed put. I also realized how important family solidarity (or as much of it as you can get) is and it got comfortable. But last month felt so different. I was traveling on my own as a working adult, not as a student with those obligations. I felt an even greater sense of independence.

And I’m back home and it feels good to be back. It’s always nice to experience different things, to meet different people, to see different cultures, and to be foreign in a new place. But it really makes a homecoming so much sweeter. It gives me such a great appreciation for what I have- and to even have the means to go on impromptu trips! I think I need to do a little mini adventure once a month. Keep things from going too stagnant as I was before.

But now, to get back in the swing of things. I have a bunch of ABeauty products to try out which means reviews to crank out. I’ll try to be a bit more consistent with my posts especially now that I’m 80% caught up with work.. I’ll have a bit more freetime on my hands again!

Leave a comment